April 10, 1998

A special meeting of the Jamestown Town Council was called to order at the
Town Hall, 93 Narragansett Avenue, at 8:39 AM by Council President Craig
A. Amerigian. The following members were present:
David E. Dolce, Vice President
Fred F. Pease
Ellicott Wright
(Absent: William H. Murphy)

Also present were:
Maryanne Crawford, CPA, Interim Town Administrator/Finance Director
Theresa C. Donovan, CMC, Town Clerk
Lisa W. Bryer, Town Planner
Quentin Anthony, Esq., Town Solicitor

The meeting was called by consent of the Councilors on April 7 for the
purpose of considering legislation to be submitted to the General

(J. Christopher Powell, Conservation Commission Chair and John Hubbard,
Conanicut Island Land Trust President arrived at 8:44 AM.)

Proposed land bank: The March 25 draft was reviewed and various points
were clarified with the Solicitor; the penalty was changed to one percent
of the outstanding fee not to exceed twelve percent.
     Motion by Councilor Wright, seconded by Council President Amerigian
to make the first $150,000.00 of the purchase price of improved property
exempt from the fee, and indicate on the bill and supporting materials
that Council arrived at that figure through the Solicitor's formula, as
has appeared in prior drafts.
     So unanimously voted. Council consensus: place on the April 13 agenda
for further consideration.
     The Solicitor noted the issues to be stressed in the accompanying
resolution should be public health issues, including the dangers to
private wells due to continuing development pressures in the Jamestown
Shores area, proven insufficiency of the municipal reservoir to meet the
community's needs, and the geographic fact that Jamestown is an island
with a limited water supply.
     Motion by Councilor Wright, seconded by Councilor Pease that the Town
Clerk write the resolution. So unanimously voted.

Tax assessment proration: Council consensus: put both items of proposed
legislation (new construction and demolition) on the April 13 agenda.

There being no further business before the Council, motion by Councilor
Wright, seconded by Councilor Pease to adjourn the special meeting at 9:41
AM. So unanimously voted.


Theresa C. Donovan, CMC
Town Clerk